West Indies’ Marlon Samuels Wins ESPNcricinfo Award for Best Twenty20 Bowling Performance

CricketESPN CaribbeanESPN International

West Indies’ Marlon Samuels Wins ESPNcricinfo Award for Best Twenty20 Bowling Performance

Other ESPNcricinfo Awards 2012 Winners Include Kevin Pietersen and Vernon Philander

Kevin Pietersen and Vernon Philander have won the top honours in the ESPNcricinfo Awards 2012, which celebrate the best individual performances over the last calendar year by batsmen and bowlers in Tests, one-day internationals and T20 cricket.

The coveted T20 batting prize went to Marlon Samuels of West Indies for his astonishing 78 off 56 balls in the World Twenty20 final, a low-scoring match where 13 batsmen made single-figure scores.

What the jury said about Marlon Samuels’ award winning performance:

“He started very slow and struggled with his timing, but with wickets falling around him and the scoreboard not moving, he suddenly broke free and played some shots that really did make you shake your head in disbelief.”

Russel Arnold

“The format of T20 somewhat militates against true greatness, but Samuels’ innings ticked every box. It came on the biggest stage, in difficult conditions, when his team desperately needed it, and most of all, it was so much ahead of every other performance in the match. When everyone else struggled he was majestic. Eight sixes hit in the match and Samuels hit six of them. West Indies were 32 for 2 in ten overs, and they won by 36 runs. Someone called it the 281 of T20, and he was right.”

Sambit Bal

ESPNcricinfo, the world’s leading cricket website, announced the awards on March 11. The winning performances were by cricketers from England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, West Indies and India.

The awards were voted on by a 14-member jury of cricket greats and experts, including Geoffrey Boycott (former England opener), Ian Chappell (former Australia captain), Ramiz Raja (former Pakistan captain), Russel Arnold (former Sri Lanka allrounder) and Sambit Bal (editor, ESPNcricinfo).

Other ESPNcricinfo Awards 2012 Winners Included:

Kevin Pietersen of England won the test batting performance award for his match-turning 186 against India in the Mumbai test. Pietersen’s decisive innings helped England win the game, and eventually go on to post a series victory – their first in India in nearly 30 years.

South Africa’s Vernon Philander took the Test bowling performance award for his 5 for 30 against England at Lord’s, his fifth five-for in the first ten Tests of an extraordinary career. It is seldom that an individual arrives in the Test match arena with such venomous impact,” awards jury member Peter Kirsten, the former South Africa batsman, said of Philander.

Virat Kohli, who had two performances nominated in the ODI batting shortlist, won for his blitzkrieg 133 not out against Sri Lanka in Hobart, which helped India chase a target of 321 in under 37 overs and kept them in the hunt for the CB Series title.

Sri Lankans won two awards this year: Thisara Perera took the ODI bowling title for his 6 for 44 against Pakistan in Pallekele, and Lasith Malinga the T20 bowling one for his 5 for 31 against England in the World Twenty20.

The ESPNcricinfo Awards were established in 2007. Previous winners include Virender Sehwag, Dale Steyn, Lasith Malinga and Umar Gul, all of whom have won twice apiece; Sachin Tendulkar leads, with three awards.


Back to top button