ESPNcricinfo Awards 2011 nominees unveiled


ESPNcricinfo Awards 2011 nominees unveiled

  • England’s Broad, Bell, Pietersen and Strauss in running for Awards
  • World’s leading cricket website identifies the best performances from 2011

 ESPNcricinfo is unveiling the nominees for this year’s ESPNcricinfo Awards, which celebrates the best individual performances in 2011 by batsmen and bowlers in Tests and one-day internationals.

 Six England players feature in ESPNcricinfo’s awards nominations list for 2011, a year in which the team established itself at the top of the Test rankings. Kevin Pietersen, Ian Bell, Andrew Strauss, James Anderson, Tim Bresnan and Stuart Broad, who was nominated in both Test and ODI bowling categories, share space with Rahul Dravid, Sachin Tendulkar, Jacques Kallis, Ricky Ponting and other stars of 2011.

 Since the year also hosted an exciting World Cup, 13 of the 20 one-day nominations come from performances in the tournament – including Kevin O’Brien’s fastest World Cup century that helped Ireland achieve a historical win over England, five-fors by Dale Steyn and Wahab Riaz, and Gautam Gambhir, Mahela Jayawardene and MS Dhoni’s innings in the final in Mumbai.

 The awards, which celebrate the game in the past year, will be announced on February 20, and will be based on votes by a jury of former players – Ian Chappell, Sanjay Manjrekar, Geoff Boycott, Martin Crowe, Kepler Wessels, Ian Bishop, Ramiz Raja and Russel Arnold – and the game’s leading writers. Previous winners of the awards, first established in 2007, have included Virender Sehwag (twice), Dale Steyn, Shahid Afridi and Kumar Sangakkara.

 In addition to the jury’s selections, the Reader’s Choice Award gives ESPNcricinfo users the opportunity to have their own say and vote on the best cricket performances of the year from the list of this year’s nominees – with the winners also announced in February.


 “The ESPNcricinfo Awards celebrate the very best performances in world cricket over the past year. We want fans to tell us what they think by voting in the Reader’s Choice Award and gauge their views against those of our panel of some of the leading voices in cricket worldwide,” said Tom Gleeson, digital media vice-president, ESPN International.

Back to top button