ESPN Player Will Present the 86th Heisman Trophy Ceremony

American FootballESPN PlayerPress Releases

ESPN Player Will Present the 86th Heisman Trophy Ceremony

  • Chris Fowler to host from ESPN’s Bristol, Conn. studios with Maria Taylor; former Heisman Trophy winners Desmond Howard and Tim Tebow also to contribute
  • 2020 Heisman Finalists Mac Jones, Trevor Lawrence, DeVonta Smith and Kyle Trask

ESPN will televise the 86th Heisman Trophy Ceremony presented by Nissan on Tuesday, January 6, at 12 a.m. GMT. For the 27th straight year, Chris Fowler will host the one-hour telecast, joined by reporter Maria Taylor. ESPN analysts and former Heisman Trophy winners Desmond Howard (1991) and Tim Tebow (2007) will also contribute remotely.

The 2020 Heisman Ceremony will originate from ESPN’s Bristol, Conn., studios for the first time with all four finalists – Alabama quarterback Mac Jones, Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence, Alabama wide receiver DeVonta Smith and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask – appearing via satellite from either their homes or schools. In addition, Heisman Trophy winners from past years will appear virtually.

ESPN’s coverage will feature a brand new graphics and animations package designed by ESPN’s Creative Services team for the Heisman Ceremony.

Heisman voting concluded Monday, Dec. 21, after the Conference Championship games were played. The finalists and overall top-10 finishers were announced Dec. 24.

ESPN has been the exclusive home of the Heisman Trophy Ceremony since 1994 and reached a new multi-year agreement with The Heisman Trust in November.

Oliver Clarke

Ollie first joined ESPN in 2016 from the University of Birmingham. Ollie looks after all things direct-to-consumer in EMEA. This includes, but not limited to, customer acquisition and retention, programming, customer life cycle management and communications.
Back to top button