ESPN Announces Men’s College Basketball Big Monday BIG EAST Schedule for 2009-10 Season


ESPN Announces Men’s College Basketball Big Monday BIG EAST Schedule for 2009-10 Season

ESPN has announced the 2009-10 Big Monday Presented by Bud Light BIG EAST men’s college basketball schedule featuring the nation’s top teams in action every Monday at 7 p.m. ET from January 11 to March 1.

The popular regular weekday timeslot every Monday during conference play – featuring a doubleheader with the Big 12 Conference — begins January 11 with Villanova at Louisville in a showdown between NCAA Tournament participants from last year. Villanova reached the Final Four and Louisville the Elite Eight.  Louisville, the defending BIG EAST Tournament champions, beat Villanova in both matchups last season, including in the conference semifinals.

Prior to the tip off of the Big Monday schedule, ESPN will showcase a BIG EAST conference matchup in its regular timeslot, Monday, Jan. 4, at 7 p.m. pitting Pittsburgh at Cincinnati.

BIG EAST schedule highlights include:

  • Connecticut at Villanova in a showdown between the two BIG EAST Final Four participants February 15;
  • Coverage featuring three of the four programs which made it to the NCAA Tournament Elite Eight: Connecticut, Louisville and Villanova (the fourth, Pittsburgh, will be televised January 4).
  • All four BIG EAST teams on the pre-season poll by Andy Katz: #4 Villanova, #9 West Virginia, #18 Georgetown and #25 Connecticut;
  • At least one team that has won the NCAA Championship in ESPN’s 30 years in each game: Connecticut (1999 & 2004), Georgetown (1984), Louisville (1980 & 1986), Syracuse (2003) and Villanova (1985), including four matchups between the teams:
    • Villanova at Louisville (January 11)
    • Georgetown at Syracuse (January 25)
    • Connecticut at Louisville (February 1)
    • Connecticut at Villanova (February 15)

ESPN’s 2009-10 Big Monday BIG EAST Men’s Basketball Schedule

Note: All games televised on ESPN and at 7 p.m. ET



January 11

Villanova at Louisville

January 18

Syracuse at Notre Dame

January 25

Georgetown at Syracuse

February 1

Connecticut at Louisville

February 8

Villanova at West Virginia

February 15

Connecticut at Villanova

February 22

West Virginia at Connecticut

March 1

Georgetown at West Virginia


Back to top button