Seven College Football Hall of Famers among Presenters for The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards

College FootballFootball

Seven College Football Hall of Famers among Presenters for The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards

Show Live from Disney’s BoardWalk at 7 p.m. ET Dec. 10 on ESPN; ESPNU to Air Red Carpet Special Before and After Awards

Seven College Football Hall of Famers are among the presenters announced for The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards – live on Thursday, Dec. 10, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN. The show will feature the live presentation of nine player awards, along with Disney’s Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award, the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contributions to College Football Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team. Presenters include:


Biletnikoff Award (best receiver)

Chris Fowler collegefootballawards

Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)

Pat Fitzgerald, 1995 & 1996 winner, Northwestern* 

Lou Groza Award (best kicker)

Mike Reeder, 1995 winner, TCU

Ray Guy Award (best punter)

Ray Guy* 

Maxwell Award (best all-around player)

Lou Holtz 

Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback)

Troy Aikman, 1988 winner, UCLA* 

Outland Trophy (best interior lineman)collegefootballawards1

Mark May, 1980 winner, Pittsburgh* 

Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)

Governor Bill Anoatubby, tribal leader of the Chickasaw Nation 

Doak Walker Award (best running back)

Tony Dorsett* 

Contributions to College Football

Steve Young (via tape)* 

The Home Depot Coach of the Year

Frank Bifulco, Sr. VP of Marketing & Chief Marketing Officer, The Home Depot 

Walter Camp Player of the Year

Tim Brown, 1987 winner, Notre Dame*  

Disney Spirit Award

Tim Tebow, 2008 winner, Florida; and Faron Kelley, Director of Sports Marketing, Disney

*College Football Hall of Fame Inductee



The show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso and Kirk Herbstreit, with Mike Gleason as theatre announcer, will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.  The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Red Carpet Show, hosted by Cara Capuano, Tom Luginbill, Lowell Galindo and Jenn Brown, will air at 6 p.m. on ESPNU and after the show at 9 p.m. 

The NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award will be presented to legendary football coach LaVell Edwards.  The 2009 season marks the 25th anniversary of Brigham Young University’s 1984 National Championship team. That season, Edwards led the Cougars to a perfect 13-0 record and was named the national coach of the year by the American Football Coaches Association and the Football Writers Association of America.

In addition, Disney Sports will award Boston College linebacker Mark Herzlich the Disney Spirit Award given annually to college football’s most inspirational figure. Herzlich recently overcame a rare form of bone cancer and helped inspire more than $120,000 in donations for cancer-related causes.

Fans can visit the show’s dedicated Web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.   

MEDIA NOTE: Media interested in attending The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards can apply for credentials at the event Web site, Questions concerning credentials should be directed to Elizabeth Benz at [email protected]. 


National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)

The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official Web site,



Back to top button