Nominees Announced for The 2010 ESPYs as Fan Voting Begins


Nominees Announced for The 2010 ESPYs as Fan Voting Begins

THE_ESPYS_Sq_BW_PosTo tweet this release: |  Photos

PRESS NOTE:  Media can apply for credentials for The 2010 ESPYs at

Drew Brees, Landon Donovan,  LeBron James, Los Angeles Lakers, Evan Lysacek, New York Yankees, Lindsay Vonn, Serena Williams, Tiger Woods Just Some of the Nominees for the 18th Annual ESPYs Hosted by Seth Meyers 


Nominees for The 2010 ESPYs co-presented by Capital One and Castrol EDGE hosted by Seth Meyers, have been announced… and voting has begun. 


The complete list of The 2010 ESPYs nominees is available to members of the media here and for voters at


  • Voting begins today and runs through 11:59 p.m. ET on July 10 for most categories.
  • ESPN2’s half-hour nomination show will be televised Fri, June 25, at 8p.m. ET
  • The winners will be announced during The 2010 ESPYs, televised LIVE Wed, July 14, at 9 p.m. ET on ESPN/ESPN HD.

*The “Best Play” nominees will be announced during the 2010 ESPY Countdown show airing live on July 14 at 7 p.m. on ESPN and voting will take place throughout The 2010 ESPYs telecast.

**In addition, “Best Team” voting will be open throughout the live telecast.


Fans will determine the winners in 37 categories (except the Arthur Ashe Courage Award and other special awards) by voting online and by phone at, and, for the first time, at .

The ESPYs gather top celebrities from sports and entertainment to commemorate the past year in sports by recognizing major sports achievements, reliving unforgettable moments and saluting the leading performers and performances. The 2010 ESPYs will recognize both sport-specific achievements, such as “Best MLB Player” and “Best WNBA Player,” as well as best-in-sport winners, such as “Best Team” or “Best Female Athlete” that pit nominees from different sports against each other.  The ESPYs honor ESPN’s commitment to The V Foundation for Cancer Research, a partnership launched with the late Jim Valvano at the inaugural ESPYs in 1993. 

For the third time in several years, a limited amount of ESPYs tickets are available for public purchase at


  • In addition to the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, which will be given to the Thomas family, two special ESPYs will be presented this year: the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance, honoring Denver Nuggets Coach George Karl, a survivor of prostate cancer who was diagnosed with neck and throat cancer earlier this year, causing him to miss games and practices; and Best Comeback, being given to Kim Clijsters who became the first unseeded woman in history to win the U.S. Open.
  • Will Tiger Woods add to his record 22 ESPYs? Nominated for Best Golfer, Woods is looking to win an ESPY for the sixth straight year.
  • Will Drew Brees become the second NFL player to win Best Male Athlete in the last 15 years? LaDainian Tomlinson did it in 2007.
  • Will LeBron James or Kobe Bryant win the Best Male Athlete? The only other NBA player to win that ESPY was Michael Jordan at the first ESPYs back in 1993.
  • Two candidates for Best Female Athlete are trying to return to the ESPY winner’s circle — Serena Williams last won that award in 2003, while Diana Taurasi won it in 2004. Meanwhile, Maya Moore and Lindsey Vonn are trying to win Best Female for the first time.
  • Will Chris Johnson make it four straight years that an NFL player wins Best Breakthrough Athlete?
  • Will Brett Favre win Record Breaking Performance for the second time in three years?
  • Two candidates for Best Team are trying to win after a long absence: The Connecticut women’s basketball team won in the category at the 1996 ESPYs and the New York Yankees last won Best Team at the 2001 ESPYs.


Contact: Alison Lazar / ESPN (212) 448-4804, [email protected]

Back to top button