Washington State Completes Field for 2010 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic

BasketballCollege Basketball - Men's

Washington State Completes Field for 2010 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic

To tweet this release: http://bit.ly/9lGgyU 

June 1, 2010

ESPN Regional Television announced that Washington State of the Pac-10 Conference will round out the field for the 2010 Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic. The eight-team tournament is set for Dec. 22, 23 and 25 at the Stan Sheriff Center in Honolulu.

The Cougars join tournament host school Hawai‘i, along with Baylor, Butler, Florida State, Mississippi State, San Diego and Utah. Four of the eight teams reached the 2009-10 postseason, including a Butler squad that advanced all the way to the NCAA Tournament finals before falling to Duke in a thrilling championship game. Baylor also made a deep run in the NCAA Tournament with its first appearance in the Elite Eight.

“We are thrilled with the addition of Washington State to the second Annual Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic,” said David Matlin, executive director of the Diamond Head Classic and Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl. “The Cougars, from the Pac-10, complete one of the most exciting tournament fields for the upcoming season.”

The Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic, an eight-team men’s college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games through three days – Dec. 22, 23 and 25. The Sheraton Hawai‘i Bowl, also owned by ESPN Regional Television, will be played Dec 24.

Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match on Christmas day, Dec. 25.

Additional information can be found on the Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic’s official website: www.DiamondHeadClassic.com.

About Hawaiian Airlines

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. is a subsidiary of Hawaiian Holdings, Inc. (NASDAQ: HA). Additional information is available at HawaiianAirlines.com.

ESPN Regional Television/Event Ownership

The nation’s largest syndicator of collegiate sports programming, ESPN Regional Television (ERT) annually produces more than 1,000 telecasts of sporting events. Programming includes football, basketball, NCAA events, golf and NHRA events accounting for more than 2,200 live and/or original hours of programming. In addition to event ownership, ERT is the production headquarters for ESPNU, the 24-hour college sports network; syndication rights-holder and producer of national, regional and local shows for college conferences (e.g. – SEC, BIG EAST, Big 12, Mid-American, WAC).

ESPN Regional Television markets and/or owns several sporting events, including collegiate football events: the Beef ‘O’ Brady’s Bowl St. Petersburg; Bell Helicopter Armed Forces Bowl (Fort Worth, Texas); MAACO Bowl Las Vegas; New Mexico Bowl (Albuquerque); Papajohns.com Bowl (Birmingham, Ala.); Sheraton Hawai’i Bowl (Honolulu); Texas Bowl (Houston); the MEAC/SWAC Challenge presented by Disney (Orlando, Fla.); and The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards; collegiate basketball events: the 76 Classic (Anaheim, Calif.); Cancun Governor’s Cup; Charleston Classic (S.C.); SEC/BIG EAST Invitational; Hawaiian Airlines Diamond Head Classic (Honolulu); Old Spice Classic (Walt Disney World Resort near Orlando, Fla.); Puerto Rico Tipoff (San Juan); All-College Basketball Classic (Oklahoma City) and BracketBusters; as well as the new ESPNU Warrior Classic (Lacrosse) and the ESPN National Golf Challenge presented by Callaway. For more information, visit ESPNPlus.com.


Media Contacts: Neal Iwamoto, media coordinator, at 808-956-9748 or [email protected]; Jenny Zimmerman, ESPN, at 407-566-2213 or [email protected]

Back to top button