Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards

College FootballFootball

Finalists Announced for The Home Depot College Football Awards


Show Live from Disney’s BoardWalk on Dec. 9, 7 p.m. ET on ESPN; ESPNU to Air Roundtable Special and Red Carpet Show Beginning at 5 p.m.

Kellen Moore of Boise State
Kellen Moore of Boise State

Finalists for The Home Depot College Football Awards – live on Thursday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. ET on ESPN – were announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards Nomination Special on ESPNU. Quarterbacks Andrew Luck of Stanford, Kellen Moore of Boise State and Cam Newton of Auburn highlight the list of outstanding student-athletes in contention. The 20th annual awards show, hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, Lee Corso, Kirk Herbstreit and Desmond Howard, with reporting from Wendi Nix, will originate from the Atlantic Dance Hall at Disney’s BoardWalk at the Walt Disney World Resort in Lake Buena Vista, Fla.

New for 2010. The Home Depot College Football Awards Roundtable Special, a discussion about the year in college football with top award finalists hosted by Tom Rinaldi, will air on Thursday, Dec. 9 at 5 p.m. on ESPNU.  The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show will follow at 6 p.m. on ESPNU and after the show at 9 p.m. Hosts Wendi Nix, Tom Rinaldi and Rob Stone will preview the awards from the red carpet and conduct interviews with athletes and presenters. 

The Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards will feature the live presentation of nine player awards; the NCFAA (National College Football Awards Association) Contribution to College Football Award to Lee Corso; Disney Spirit Award; The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award; AllState Good Hands Award; and student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team.

Fans can visit the show’s dedicated Web site at to find the latest college football awards news, including show details, previous winners, fan voting, a photo gallery and video highlights.  


Chuck Bednarik Award (best defensive player)
Da’Quan Bowers, Jr., Clemson
Nick Fairley, Jr., Auburn
Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU
Biletnikoff Award (best receiver)
Justin Blackmon, So., Oklahoma State
Ryan Broyles, Jr., Oklahoma
Alshon Jeffery, So., South Carolina
Lou Groza Award (best kicker)
Dan Bailey, Sr., Oklahoma State
Danny Hrapmann, Jr., Univ. of Southern Miss.
David Ruffer, Sr., Notre Dame
Ray Guy Award (best punter)
Drew Butler, Jr., Georgia*
Ryan Donahue, Sr., Iowa
Chas Henry, Sr., Florida  
Maxwell Award (best all-around player) 
Andrew Luck, Jr., Stanford
Kellen Moore, Jr., Boise State
Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn
Davey O’Brien Award (best quarterback)Andrew Luck, Jr., Stanford
Kellen Moore, Jr., Boise State
Cam Newton, Jr., Auburn
Outland Trophy (best interior lineman)Gabe Carimi, Sr., Wisconsin
Rodney Hudson, Sr., Florida State
Nate Solder, Sr., Colorado
Jim Thorpe Award (best defensive back)Prince Amukamara, Sr., Nebraska
Tejay Johnson, Sr., TCU
Patrick Peterson, Jr., LSU
Doak Walker Award (best running back)John Clay, Jr., Wisconsin
Kendall Hunter, Sr., Oklahoma State
LaMichael James, So., Oregon

*2009 award winner 

MEDIA NOTE: Media interested in attending The Home Depot College Football Awards can apply for credentials at the event Web site, Questions concerning credentials should be directed to Elizabeth McCollum at [email protected].                                 

National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)
The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game’s predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association’s official Web site,


Back to top button