Bracket Announced for 2012 Puerto Rico Tip-Off

BasketballCollege Basketball - Men's

Bracket Announced for 2012 Puerto Rico Tip-Off

Championship Game to Air Sunday, Nov. 18 on ESPN2

The bracket for the 2012 Puerto Rico Tip-Off, held in San Juan, Puerto Rico, Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 15, 16 & 18, has been set for the eight competing teams: Akron, Massachusetts, UNC Asheville, NC State, Oklahoma State, Penn State, Providence and Tennessee.

A minimum of six games will air on ESPNU, two on ESPN2, including the Championship Game on Sunday, Nov. 18, at 6:30 p.m. ET. ESPN3 will have the three remaining games and the entire tournament will be available through WatchESPN, accessible online at and through smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider.

Tournament highlights:

  • In an early men’s preseason top 25 poll, NC State is ranked No. 6 and will face Penn State in first-round action on ESPN2 at 5 p.m.
  • ESPNU will be the home for the remaining three first-round games – Akron vs. Oklahoma State at 10:30 a.m.; UNC Asheville vs. Tennessee at 12:30 p.m.; and Providence vs. Massachusetts at 7:30 p.m.
  • Five of the eight teams competing in the field earned 2012 postseason berths

The family-friendly tournament and resort destination of Puerto Rico host the teams to twelve games over three days of play, practices and immersion into the Puerto Rican culture and landscape. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format. The two teams that remain undefeated throughout will face off in a championship match.

Travel packages and discounted hotel accommodations are available to fans through Anthony Travel, the official travel provider of the Puerto Rico Tip-Off. Packages include hotel accommodations at the team hotel, game day transportation, an all-session pass to the games and access to an exclusive banquet reception with the players and coaches (limited availability). For more information or to book your travel to the tournament, please visit the or call 888-632-6951.

Alabama claimed the 2011 Puerto Rico Tip-Off title. Additional Puerto Rico Tip-Off winners include Minnesota (2010), Villanova (2009), Xavier (2008) and Miami (2007).

The Puerto Rico Tip-Off is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television, Inc. (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

Puerto Rico Tip-Off (Schedule subject to change)

Date Time (ET) Game Network
Thu, Nov 15 10:30 a.m. Akron vs. Oklahoma State ESPNU
12:30 p.m. UNC Asheville vs. Tennessee ESPNU
5 p.m. NC State vs. Penn State ESPN2
7:30 p.m. Providence vs. Massachusetts ESPNU
Fri, Nov 16 10:30 a.m. Semifinal #1 ESPNU
1 p.m. Consolation #1 ESPN3
5 p.m. Semifinal #2 ESPN2 or ESPNU
7:30 p.m. Consolation #2 ESPN3
Sun, Nov 18 11 a.m. 7th-place Game ESPN3
1:30 p.m. 5th-place Game ESPNU
3:30 p.m. 3rd-place Game ESPNU
6:30 p.m. Championship Game ESPN2
Fri, Nov 23 TBD UNC Asheville at NC State^ n/a

^ – Non-bracketed Game







Rachel Margolis Siegal

As part of the College Sports PR team at ESPN, it has been an exciting adventure for me since I joined the worldwide leader in July 2010, working on college football, college basketball, college lacrosse and WNBA properties. I began my love of sports as the manager of several high school sports teams and continued that hobby into college. While at Quinnipiac, I worked in the Sports Information Department, which led me to a summer internship at the New Haven Ravens, a AA baseball team, and an eventual job with the Athletic Communications Department at the University of Connecticut. After my five-year stint at Connecticut, I spent six years as Director of Communications at the BIG EAST Conference in Providence, R.I. before joining ESPN.
Back to top button