2015 ESPN Sport Science Newton Awards to Air February 15 on ESPN2


2015 ESPN Sport Science Newton Awards to Air February 15 on ESPN2

Odell Beckham Jr. Wins Award for “Best Catch”

At this year’s ESPN Sport Science Newton Awards, the New York Giants’ Odell Beckham Jr. took home a trophy for “Best Catch” for his stunning one-handed touchdown against the Cowboys this season. Beckham’s appearance to accept his award is just one of the highlights of the 2015 ESPN Sport Science Newton Awards, which air Sunday, Feb. 15, at 10 p.m. ET on ESPN2.

The second annual awards show, which recognizes the top moments in sports from a scientific perspective, was taped at Herberger Theater in the heart of Phoenix during Super Bowl week. While most awards shows are based on a voting process, the Newton Awards are judged on unprecedented scientific analysis of thousands of athletic performances from the world of sports during 2014.

In addition to “Best Catch,” other Newton Award categories include “Outstanding Agility,” “Best Flight,” “Best Use of Geometry,” “Outstanding Reaction,” “Best Trajectory,” “Outstanding Save,” “Best Application of Leverage,” “Outstanding New Limit,” “Most Improbable,” and the mathematical equivalent of posterization, “Greater Than.” Category nominees, drawn from across the world of sports, include the NFL’s Peyton Manning, J.J. Watt, and Marshawn Lynch, the NBA’s John Wall, MLB players Clayton Kershaw, Mike Trout, as well as Steven Souza Jr., Rafael Nadal, Tim Howard, Mo’ne Davis, Samaje Perine, the Los Angeles Kings, and Olympic gold medalist Kaitlyn Farrington.

ESPN Sport Science Newton Awards are hosted by the creator and host of ESPN Sport Science, John Brenkus. Category presenters include comedian JB Smoove, legendary swimmer Diana Nyad, NFL Head Coach Ron Rivera, comedian Jim Norton, and WWE Divas the Bella Twins. Special guest star appearances include actor Steve Rannazzisi, comedian Frank Caliendo, the Juggler from Cirque du Soleil’s show Zarkana, musician/DJ Redfoo, comedian Bryan Callen, Mitchie Brusco, NFL veteran Matt Willig, and the Phoenix Suns’ mascot Go the Gorilla.

About Sport Science

Hosted by John Brenkus, ESPN Sport Science brings viewers amazing insights into athletic performance from a scientific viewpoint. Currently in its seventh year of production, the innovative approach of ESPN Sport Science has made it one of the company’s most decorated properties in recent years, garnering a total of six Emmys. ESPN Sport Science is produced by ESPN and BASE Productions.



Jennifer Cingari Christie

Based in New York City, Jennifer Cingari Christie is a Communications Manager for ESPN Films and Original Content. Her projects include the critically-acclaimed 30 for 30 documentary series, ESPN The Magazine and The ESPYS, among others.
Back to top button