Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield Takes Top Honors—Winning Three Awards—at The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by GILDAN


Oklahoma’s Baker Mayfield Takes Top Honors—Winning Three Awards—at The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by GILDAN

2017 Images 

  • Alabama’s Minkah Fitzpatrick Wins Chuck Bednarik Award and Jim Thorpe Award

Oklahoma senior quarterback Baker Mayfield won the night at The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by GILDAN on Thursday, taking home the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and the Maxwell Award for college player of the year. Mayfield also won the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, announced live on SC6 with Michael and Jemele prior to the show. Minkah Fitzpatrick, junior defensive back for the Alabama Crimson Tide, was awarded both top honors for a defensive player: The Chuck Bednarik Award for college defensive player of the year and the Jim Thorpe Award for nation’s best defensive back.

Mayfield is the first from the University of Oklahoma to win the Maxwell Award and joins Sam Bradford, Jason White (two-time winner) and Billy Sims on the list of Sooners to take home the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. Fitzpatrick is the first player from Alabama to take home the Chuck Bednarik award and the first member of the Crimson Tide to receive the Jim Thorpe Award since Antonio Langham in 1993.

Additional winners announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by GILDAN: James Washington from Oklahoma State won the Biletnikoff Award for outstanding receiver; Matt Gay from Utah won the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award; Michael Dickson from Texas won the Ray Guy Award for college punter of the year; Ed Oliver from Houston won the Outland Trophy for the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman; Bryce Love from Stanford won the Doak Walker Award for the nation’s premier running back.

The Home Depot College Football Awards presented by GILDAN Full List of Winners:
*winners in bold 

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year
Bradley Chubb, NC State (Sr.)
Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama (Jr.)
Roquan Smith, Georgia (Jr. )
Biletnikoff Award
Outstanding Receiver
Michael Gallup, Colorado State (Sr.)
David Sills V, West Virginia (Jr.)
James Washington, Oklahoma State (Sr.)
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker
Daniel Carlson, Auburn (Sr.)
Dominik Eberle, Utah State (So.)
Matt Gay, Utah (Jr.)
Ray Guy Award
College Punter of the Year
Michael Dickson, Texas (Jr.)
JK Scott, Alabama (Sr.)
Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah (Jr.)
Maxwell Award
College Player of the Year
Saquon Barkley, Penn State (Jr.)
Bryce Love, Stanford (Jr.)
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (Sr.)
Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation’s Best Quarterback
J.T. Barrett, Ohio State (Sr.)
Baker Mayfield, Oklahoma (Sr.)
Mason Rudolph, Oklahoma State (Sr.)
Outland Trophy
Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
Orlando Brown, Oklahoma (Jr.)
Quenton Nelson, Notre Dame (Sr.)
Ed Oliver, Houston (So.)
Jim Thorpe Award
Nation’s Best Defensive Back
DeShon Elliott, Texas (Jr.)
Minkah Fitzpatrick, Alabama (Jr.)
Josh Jackson, Iowa (Jr.)
Doak Walker Award
Nation’s Premier Running Back
Saquon Barkley, Penn State (Jr.)
Bryce Love, Stanford (Jr.)
Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin (Fr.)


Other Awards Recognized During The Home Depot College Football Awards:

The Home Depot Coach of the Year Scott Frost
NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award Brent Musburger
Disney Spirit Award The Kinnick Wave
University of Iowa
William V. Campbell Trophy
Academic Success
Micah Kiser
The Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain Patrick Mohorcic
College of Wooster

The following players were also announced for the Walter Camp All-America Team:

Wide Receiver James Washington Oklahoma State
Wide Receiver Michael Gallup Colorado State
Tight End Mark Andrews Oklahoma
Offensive Lineman Orlando Brown Oklahoma
Offensive Lineman Quenton Nelson Notre Dame
Offensive Lineman Cody O’Connell Washington State
Offensive Lineman Mike McGlinchey Notre Dame
Center Billy Price Ohio State
Quarterback Baker Mayfield Oklahoma
Running Back Bryce Love Stanford
Running Back Saquon Barkley Penn State
Placekicker Daniel Carlson Auburn
Defensive Lineman Bradley Chubb North Carolina State
Defensive Lineman Ed Oliver Houston
Defensive Lineman Hercules Mata’afa Washington State
Defensive Lineman Sutton Smith Northern Illinois U
Linebacker Roquan Smith Georgia
Linebacker Josey Jewell Iowa
Linebacker Obgonnia Okoronkwo Oklahoma
Defensive Back Minkah Fitzpatrick Alabama
Defensive Back Johshua Jackson Iowa
Defensive Back DeShon Elliott Texas
Defensive Back Jalen Davis Utah State
Punter Michael Dickson Texas
Kick Returner Dante Pettis Washington
Kick Returner Tony Pollard Memphis


Three Additional Awards were announced as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special presented by Daltile.

  • John Mackey Award (nation’s outstanding tight end): Mark Andrews, Oklahoma
  • Rimington Award (outstanding center): Billy Price, Ohio State
  • Wuerffel Trophy (community service): Courtney Love, Kentucky

 National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)
The NCFAA encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football.  The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence.  Visit www.NCFAA.org to learn more about our story.