Bracket Announced for 2012 Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant

BasketballCollege Basketball - Men's

Bracket Announced for 2012 Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant

Championship Game to Air Sunday, Nov. 18 on ESPN2

The bracket for the 2012 Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant – to be played Thursday, Friday and Sunday, Nov. 15, 16 & 18, at TD Arena in Charleston, S.C. – has been set for the eight competing teams: Auburn, Baylor, Boston College, Charleston, Colorado, Dayton, Murray State and St. John’s.

ESPN3 will have six exclusive games and ESPNU will air five, while the Championship Game will be shown on Sunday, Nov. 18, at 8:30 p.m. ET on ESPN2. All games will be available through WatchESPN, accessible online at and through smartphones and tablets via the WatchESPN app to fans who receive their video subscription from an affiliated provider. The on-site games from the Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant will air on ESPN3D.

The 2012 Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant, an eight-team men’s college basketball tournament, will feature 12 games over the three days. Each team will compete in one game per day, advancing through a bracket-tournament format.

Tournament highlights:

  • In’s early men’s preseason top 25 poll, Baylor is ranked No. 11 and will face Boston College in first-round action at 3 p.m. on ESPNU
  • Also on ESPNU, St. John’s and College of Charleston will battle at 5 p.m.
  • ESPN3 will carry the Dayton vs. Colorado game at 12:30 p.m. and Murray State vs. Auburn at 8 p.m.
  • Baylor and Colorado faced off in the 2012 NCAA Championship third round, with the third-seeded Bears ultimately advancing to the Elite Eight
  • Murray State was a No. 6 seed, advancing to the NCAA third round, while Dayton earned an NIT berth

Discounted hotel accommodations as well as game tickets are now available for fans traveling to Charleston. Visit or call 888-632-6951 to make your reservation today.

The Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant is owned and operated by ESPN Regional Television (ERT), a subsidiary of ESPN.

Northwestern won the 2011 tournament title. Previous winners include Clemson (2008), Miami (2009) and Georgetown (2010).

Charleston Classic presented by Foster Grant (Schedule subject to change)

Date Time (ET) Game Network
Thu, Nov 15 12:30 p.m. Dayton vs. Colorado ESPN3 / ESPN3D
  3 p.m. Baylor vs. Boston College ESPNU / ESPN3D
  5 p.m. St. John’s vs. College of Charleston ESPNU / ESPN3D
  8 p.m. Murray State vs. Auburn ESPN3 / ESPN3D
Fri, Nov 16 12:30 p.m. Semifinal #1 ESPNU / ESPN3D
  2:30 p.m. Consolation #1 ESPNU / ESPN3D
  5:30 p.m. Semifinal #2 ESPN3 / ESPN3D
  7:30 p.m. Consolation #2 ESPN3 / ESPN3D
Sun, Nov 18 Noon 7th-place Game ESPN3 / ESPN3D
  2 p.m. 5th-place Game ESPN3 / ESPN3D
  6 p.m. 3rd-place Game ESPNU / ESPN3D
  8:30 p.m. Championship Game ESPN2 / ESPN3D
Wed, Nov 21 TBD Auburn at Boston College^ n/a
Sat, Nov 24 TBD College of Charleston at Baylor^ n/a

^ – Non-bracketed game







Rachel Margolis Siegal

A part of the Internal Communications team at ESPN, I began with the network in 2010 as part of the College Sports PR team. Always an avid sports fan and not an athlete – I grew up a huge fan of the Hartford Whalers, while also watching my brother compete at different levels. I became the manager of several high school sports teams and continued that hobby into college. While at Quinnipiac, I worked in the Sports Information Department, which led me to a summer internship at the New Haven Ravens, a AA baseball team, and an eventual job with the Athletic Communications Department at the University of Connecticut. After my five-year stint at Connecticut, I spent six years as Director of Communications at the BIG EAST Conference in Providence, R.I. before joining ESPN.
Back to top button