ESPN2 to Present Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show Tuesday


ESPN2 to Present Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show Tuesday

ESPN2 will present the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Show Tuesday, Oct. 30, at 9:30 p.m. ET from ESPN’s Baseball Tonight studio in Bristol, Conn. The Rawlings Gold Glove Awards are presented annually to the best defensive Major League Baseball players in both the American League and National League at every fielding position. Steve Berthiaume will host the one-hour event with analysts John Kruk and Nomar Garciaparra. The show will also be available via WatchESPN. This is the second consecutive year ESPN has televised the event.

Rawlings Gold Glove Awards show highlights:

  • Guest presenters Sandy Alomar Jr. and MLB Hall of Famers Andre Dawson and Ozzie Smith announcing the winners;
  • Special edition of Baseball Tonight’s Web Gems – hosted by Nomar Garciaparra – highlighting the best defensive plays of the MLB season;
  • Highlights and analysis of all the nominees and winners.

All 18 Gold Glove winners will be eligible for the second annual Rawlings Platinum Glove Award, which is given to the best defensive player in each league. Immediately following the show, fans can vote for the Platinum Gold Glove Awards winners at Winners will be announced at the Rawlings Gold Glove Awards Dinner on Nov. 9, in New York City.

2012 Rawlings Gold Glove Awards finalists

Category National   League American   League
P Bronson   Arroyo, CIN Jeremy   Hellickson, TB
Mark   Buehrle, MIA Jake   Peavy, CWS
Clayton   Kershaw, LAD C.J.   Wilson, LAA
C Yadier   Molina, STL Alex   Avila, DET
Miguel   Montero, ARI Russell   Martin, NYY
Carlos   Ruiz, PHI A.J.   Pierzynski, CWS
Matt   Wieters, BAL
1B Freddie   Freeman, ATL Adrian   Gonzalez, BOS
Adam   LaRoche, WAS Eric   Hosmer, KC
Joey   Votto, CIN Mark   Teixeira, NYY
2B Darwin   Barney, CHC Dustin   Ackley, SEA
Aaron   Hill, ARI Robinson   Cano, NYY
Brandon   Phillips, CIN Dustin   Pedroia, BOS
3B Chase   Headley, SD Adrian   Beltre, TEX
Aramis   Ramirez, MIL Brandon   Inge, OAK
David   Wright, NYM Mike   Moustakas, KC
SS Zack   Cozart, CIN Elvis   Andrus, TEX
Ian   Desmond, WAS J.J.   Hardy, BAL
Jose   Reyes, MIA Brendan   Ryan, SEA
Jimmy   Rollins, PHI
LF Ryan   Braun, MIL Alex   Gordon, KC
Carlos   Gonzalez, COL Desmond   Jennings, TB
Martin   Prado, ATL David   Murphy, TEX
CF Michael   Bourn, ATL Austin   Jackson, DET
Andrew   McCutchen, PIT Adam   Jones, BAL
Drew   Stubbs, CIN Mike   Trout, LAA
RF Jay   Bruce, CIN Shin-Soo   Choo, CLE
Andre   Ethier, LAD Jeff   Francoeur, KC
Jason   Heyward, ATL Josh   Reddick, OAK




Ben Cafardo

I lead communications strategy and execution for ESPN’s NBA, MLB, FIBA and Little League World Series properties. I’m also a proud consumer of all things ESPN.
Back to top button