The 2018 ESPYS, Hosted by Motorsports Legend Danica Patrick, Celebrated the Biggest Achievements, Performances and Moments in Sports


The 2018 ESPYS, Hosted by Motorsports Legend Danica Patrick, Celebrated the Biggest Achievements, Performances and Moments in Sports

ESPYS Photo Gallery:

Clips: and 

Nick Foles, Chloe Kim and the Houston Astros Among the Night’s Big Winners

On Wednesday evening, the biggest names in sports and entertainment descended on the Microsoft Theater in Los Angeles to celebrate the year’s best moments in sports at The 2018 ESPYS Presented by Capital One. The show was hosted by motorsports pioneer Danica Patrick and aired live on ABC.

The evening’s first award went to NBA Rookie of the Year finalist Donovan Mitchell of the Utah Jazz, who was named Best Breakthrough Athlete. Mitchell bested Ben Simmons of the Philadelphia 76ers, the 2018 NBA Rookie of the Year who was nominated in the same category. The USA Women’s Hockey team took home the Best Game award for their 3-2 shootout victory over Canada in the 2018 Winter Olympics, bringing home the gold for the first time in 20 years. 2017 Heisman Trophy Winner and first overall NFL Draft pick Baker Mayfield was awarded Best College Athlete for his standout season with the Oklahoma Sooners, leading the team to a 12-1 record and a berth in the College Football Playoff. Philadelphia Eagles quarterback and Super Bowl LII MVP Nick Foles received the Championship Performance honor after leading the Philadelphia Eagles to their first Super Bowl title.

The Best Moment honor went to the Minnesota Vikings for their defeat of the New Orleans Saints in the NFC Divisional Playoff, also known by many as the “The Minnesota Miracle,” when the trailing Vikings stunned the Saints with an inexplicable Case Keenum to Stefon Diggs touchdown on the last play of the game. Snowboarder Shaun White earned the Best Olympic Moment with his do-or-die final run performance at the 2018 Winter Olympics featuring back-to-back 1440s to take home gold in PyeongChang. Notre Dame’s Arike Ogunbowale’s buzzer beater at the NCAA Women’s National Championship Game topped this year’s Best Play bracket. Olympic and X Games gold medalist snowboarder Chloe Kim, was named Best Female Athlete. Alexander Ovechkin earned Best Male Athlete after leading the Washington Capitals to their first Stanley Cup in franchise history. And, the Best Team honor went to the Houston Astros, which won the World Series for the first time in franchise history.

Each year, The ESPYS recognizes individuals in the world of sports who have demonstrated admirable perseverance, courage and strength in the face of adversity with three marquee awards: the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance, Arthur Ashe Award for Courage and Pat Tillman Award for Service. Early in the evening, comedian Jon Stewart presented the Tillman Award for Service to U.S. Marines Sgt. Jake Wood, who transitioned from college football star to celebrated Marine, and later founded Team Rubicon – an organization that mobilizes veterans in disaster relief efforts around the world. Later in the show, NFL Hall of Famers Dan Marino and John Elway presented the Jimmy V Award for Perseverance to former Buffalo Bills quarterback and Hall of Famer Jim Kelly for his courageous battle against cancer.

Actor David Harbour posthumously honored the three coaches who sacrificed their lives to save students during the mass shooting in at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School in Parkland, Fl. – coaches Aaron Feis, Scott Beigel and Chris Hixon. Colleague Elliott Bonner accepted the award in their honor. At the conclusion of the show, Jennifer Garner presented the Arthur Ashe Award for Courage to representatives for the “sister survivors” who spoke out against sexual abuse by their former team doctor. Aly Raisman, Sarah Klein and Tiffany Thomas Lopez delivered an acceptance speech, joining a total of 141 survivors standing on stage.

Brit Critics’ Choice Award winner Jorja Smith performed during the in-memoriam montage. Crown and the M.O.B. returned as The ESPYS house band. Additionally, Philadelphia Eagles’ Zach Ertz and Los Angeles Sparks’ Nneka Ogwumike presented the Capital One Cup to Tomas Hilliard-Arce from the Stanford University Men’s Soccer Team and Melissa Lord from the Stanford Women’s Tennis Team.

This year’s presenters included: Odell Beckham Jr. (Giants), Kate Beckinsale (“The Widow”), Chadwick Boseman (“Black Panther”), Alison Brie (“Glow”), Ciara, G-Eazy, Jim Gaffigan (“Noble Ape”), Olivia Holt (“Marvel’s Cloak & Dagger”), Trevor Jackson (“grown-ish”), Allison Janney (“I, Tonya”), Von Miller (Broncos), Adam Rippon (Olympian), Mikaela Shiffrin (Olympian), Jessica Szohr (“The Orville”), Russell Wilson (Seahawks), and more.

In addition, top athletes and celebrities who attended the show included: Antonio Brown (Steelers), Nick Foles (Eagles), Draymond Green (Warriors), Gus Kenworthy (Olympian), Chloe Kim (Olympian), Kyle Kuzma (Lakers), Alex Morgan (Soccer), Candace Parker (Sparks), Aaron Rodgers (Packers), Sloane Stephens (Tennis), Nick Young (Warriors), members of the gold medal-winning 2018 U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team and more.



Best Male Athlete: Alexander Ovechkin

Best Female Athlete: Chloe Kim

Best Olympic Moment: Shaun White

Best Championship Performance: Nick Foles

Best Breakthrough Athlete: Donovan Mitchell

Best Game: USA Women’s Hockey defeats Canada

Best Moment: Minnesota Vikings defeat the New Orleans Saints

Best Team: Houston Astros

Best College Athlete: Baker Mayfield

Best Play: Notre Dame’s Arike Ogunbowale hits second buzzer beater to win NCAA women’s national title

Best Record-Breaking Performance: Roger Federer

Best International Men’s Soccer Player: Cristiano Ronaldo

Best International Women’s Soccer Player: Sam Kerr

Best NFL Player: Tom Brady

Best MLB Player: Mike Trout

Best NHL Player: Alexander Ovechkin

Best Driver: Martin Truex Jr.

Best NBA Player: LeBron James

Best WNBA Player: Maya Moore

Best Fighter: Terence Crawford

Best Male Golfer: Jordan Spieth

Best Female Golfer: Sung-Hyun Park

Best Male Olympian: Shaun White

Best Female Olympian: Chloe Kim

Best Male Tennis Player: Roger Federer

Best Female Tennis Player: Sloane Stephens

Best Male Action Sports Athlete: David Wise

Best Female Action Sports Athlete: Chloe Kim

Best Jockey: Jose Ortiz

Best Male Athlete with a Disability: Mike Schultz

Best Female Athlete with a Disability: Brenna Huckaby

Best Bowler: Rhino Page

Best MLS Player: Nemanja Nikolic

Best NWSL Player: Megan Rapinoe



Jimmy V Award for Perseverance: Jim Kelly

Arthur Ashe Award for Courage: survivors who spoke out against sexual abuse by their former team doctor

Pat Tillman Award for Service: Jake Wood, Team Rubicon

Best Coach: Aaron Feis, Scott Beigel and Chris Hixon (coaches at Marjory Stoneman Douglas High School)


More information on The 2018 ESPYS can be found in the official press kit.


About The ESPYS

The ESPYS gather top celebrities from sports and entertainment to commemorate the past year in sports by recognizing major sports achievements, reliving unforgettable moments and saluting the leading performers and performances. The 2018 ESPYS recognizes achievements in categories such as “Best MLB Player,” “Best Team,” “Best Female Athlete” and “Best Upset.” Inspiring human stories are showcased through three pillar awards – the Arthur Ashe Courage Award, the Jimmy V Perseverance Award and the Pat Tillman Award for Service. The ESPYS support ESPN’s ongoing commitment to the V Foundation for Cancer Research, launched by ESPN with the late Jim Valvano in 1993.




Jennifer Cingari Christie

Based in New York City, Jennifer Cingari Christie is a Communications Manager for ESPN Films and Original Content. Her projects include the critically-acclaimed 30 for 30 documentary series, ESPN The Magazine and The ESPYS, among others.
Back to top button