Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray Split Player of the Year Honors at 28th Annual Home Depot College Football Awards

College FootballFootball

Tua Tagovailoa, Kyler Murray Split Player of the Year Honors at 28th Annual Home Depot College Football Awards

Alabama quarterback Tua Tagovailoa and Oklahoma’s Kyler Murray split two of the most anticipated honors of the night at the 28th Annual Home Depot College Football Awards Thursday, as the show shined a spotlight on the stars of college football as the sport ramps up into the postseason.

Tagovailoa claimed the Maxwell Award for college player of the year, as well as the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award, while Murray was the second straight Oklahoma quarterback to win the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. Murray joins Baker Mayfield, Sam Bradford, Jason White (two-time winner) and Billy Sims on the list of Sooners to take home the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

On the defensive side, Kentucky linebacker and SEC Defensive Player of the Year Josh Allen nabbed the Chuck Bednarik Award for the college defensive player of the year, while Deandre Baker of Georgia won the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award for the nation’s best defensive back.

Providing a powerful impression on attendees and viewers alike, Purdue super fan Tyler Trent accepted the Disney Spirit Award for not only his unwavering dedication to the Boilermakers, but the unending amount of inspiration he has provided fans of college football in living their lives to the fullest.

Additional winners announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards: Jerry Jeudy from Alabama won the Biletnikoff Award for outstanding receiver; Andre Szmyt from Syracuse won the Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award; Braden Mann from Texas A&M won the Ray Guy Award for college punter of the year; Quinnen Williams from Alabama won the Outland Trophy for the nation’s most outstanding interior lineman; Jonathan Taylor from Wisconsin won the Doak Walker Award for the nation’s premier running back.


Chuck Bednarik Award 

College Defensive Player of the Year

Josh Allen, Kentucky (Sr.)

Christian Wilkins, Clemson (Gr.)

Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)

Biletnikoff Award

Outstanding Receiver

Andy Isabella, UMass (Sr.)

Jerry Jeudy, Alabama (So.)

Tylan Wallace, Oklahoma State (So.)

Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award

Nation’s Outstanding Place-Kicker

Cooper Rothe, Wyoming (So.)

Andre Szmyt, Syracuse (Fr.)

Cole Tracy, LSU (Sr.)

Ray Guy Award

College Punter of the Year

Braden Mann, Texas A&M (Jr.)

James Smith, Cincinnati (So.)

Mitch Wishnowsky, Utah (So.)

Maxwell Award

College Player of the Year

Will Grier, West Virginia (Sr.)

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.)

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award

Nation’s Best Quarterback

Gardner Minshew II, Washington State (Gr.)

Kyler Murray, Oklahoma (Jr.)

Tua Tagovailoa, Alabama (So.)

Outland Trophy

Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman

Christian Wilkins, Clemson (Gr.)

Jonah Williams, Alabama (So.)

Quinnen Williams, Alabama (So.)

Paycom Jim Thorpe Award

Nation’s Best Defensive Back

Deandre Baker, Georgia (Sr.)

Julian Love, Notre Dame (Jr.)

Greedy Williams, LSU (So.)

Doak Walker Award

Nation’s Premier Running Back

Travis Etienne, Clemson (So.)

Darrell Henderson, Memphis (So.)

Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin (So.)


Other Awards Recognized During The Home Depot College Football Awards:

The Home Depot Coach of the Year Coach Brian Kelly

Notre Dame

NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award Historically Black Colleges and Universities
Disney Spirit Award Tyler Trent

Inspirational Purdue Football Super Fan

William V. Campbell Trophy

Academic Success

Christian Wilkins


Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain


Nic Weishar

Notre Dame


The following players were also announced for the Walter Camp All-America Team:

Position Player School Class
WR Jerry Jeudy Alabama SO
WR Andy Isabella UMass SR
TE Jace Sternberger Texas A&M JR
OL Jonah Williams Alabama JR
OL Mitch Hyatt Clemson SR
OL Ben Powers Oklahoma SR
OL Beau Benzschawel Wisconsin SR
C Garrett Bradbury NC State GR
QB Tua Tagovailoa Alabama SO
RB Jonathan Taylor Wisconsin SO
RB Darrell Henderson Memphis JR
PK Andre Szmyt Syracuse FR
DL Christian Wilkins Clemson GR
DL Quinnen Williams Alabama SO
DL Ed Oliver Houston JR
DL Clelin Ferrell Clemson JR
LB Josh Allen Kentucky SR
LB Devin White LSU JR
LB Devin Bush Michigan JR
DB Deandre Baker Georgia SR
DB Julian Love Notre Dame JR
DB Greedy Williams LSU SO
DB Grant Delpit LSU SO
P Braden Mann Texas A&M JR
KR Savon Scarver Utah State SO

Four additional awards were announced as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special presented by Daltile.

  • Broyles Award (outstanding assistant coach): Mike Locksley, Alabama
  • John Mackey Award(outstanding tight end): TJ Hockenson, Iowa
  • Rimington Trophy(outstanding center): Garrett Bradbury, NC State
  • Wuerffel Trophy(community service): Drue Tranquill, Notre Dame


Media contact: Kimberly Elchlepp at [email protected] or 860-424-2923; @kimelchlepp