No. 1 LSU Wins Big at The Home Depot College Football Awards

AwardsCollege Football

No. 1 LSU Wins Big at The Home Depot College Football Awards

  • Joe Burrow Takes Home Maxwell, Davey O’Brien and Walter Camp
  • Ja’Marr Chase Receives Biletnikoff; Grant Delpit Honored with Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
  • Ed Orgeron Named The Home Depot Coach of the Year

Awards night was painted purple and gold as No. 1 LSU cleaned up at this year’s The Home Depot College Football Awards. Senior quarterback Joe Burrow took home the Maxwell Award for College Player of the Year, the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award. The Tigers continued their winning streak with senior Ja’Marr Chase receiving the Biletnikoff Award for outstanding receiver and junior Grant Delpit receiving the Paycom Jim Thorpe Award for nation’s best defensive back. In addition, head coach Ed Orgeron was recognized as The Home Depot Coach of the Year.

Additional winners announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards: Ohio State’s Chase Young received the Chuck Bednarik Award, Georgia’s Rodrigo Blankenship received the Lou Groza Award, Kentucky’s Max Duffy received the Ray Guy Award, Oregon’s Penei Sewell received the Outland Trophy and Wisconsin’s Jonathan Taylor received the Doak Walker Award.

The Home Depot College Football Awards Winners
NCFAA awards announced during The Home Depot College Football Awards:

Chuck Bednarik Award
College Defensive Player of the Year
Derrick Brown, Auburn (Sr.)
Isaiah Simmons, Clemson (Jr.)
Chase Young, Ohio State (Jr.)
Biletnikoff Award
Outstanding Receiver
Ja’Marr Chase, LSU (So.)
CeeDee Lamb, Oklahoma (Jr.)
Michael Pittman Jr., USC (Sr.)
Lou Groza Collegiate Place-Kicker Award
Nation’s Outstanding Placekicker
Rodrigo Blankenship, Georgia (Sr.)
Keith Duncan, Iowa (Jr.)
Blake Mazza, Washington State (So.)
Ray Guy Award
College Punter of the Year
Dane Roy, Houston (Sr.)
Max Duffy, Kentucky (Jr.)
Sterling Hofrichter, Syracuse (Jr.)
Maxwell Award
College Player of the Year
Joe Burrow, LSU (Sr.)
Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma (Sr.)
Chase Young, Ohio State (Jr.)
Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award
Nation’s Best Quarterback
Joe Burrow, LSU (Sr.)
Justin Fields, Ohio State (Jr.)
Jalen Hurts, Oklahoma (Sr.)
Outland Trophy
Nation’s Most Outstanding Interior Lineman
Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin (Jr.)
Derrick Brown, Auburn (Sr.)
Penei Sewell, Oregon (So.)
Paycom Jim Thorpe Award
Nation’s Best Defensive Back
Grant Delpit, LSU (Jr.)
Jeff Okudah, Ohio State (Jr.)
J.R. Reed, Georgia (Sr.)
Doak Walker Award
Nation’s Premier Running Back
Chuba Hubbard, Oklahoma State (So.)
Jonathan Taylor, Wisconsin (Jr.)
J.K. Dobbins, Ohio State (Jr.)

Other Awards Recognized During The Home Depot College Football Awards:

The Home Depot Coach of the Year Ed Orgeron, LSU
NCFAA Contributions Awards Herschel Walker, Heisman Trophy Winner, Georgia
Disney Spirit Casey O’Brien, Minnesota
William V. Campbell presented by Mazda Justin Herbert, Oregon
Allstate AFCA Good Works Team Captain Landon Young, Kentucky

The following players were also announced for the Walter Camp All-America Team:

Position Player School Class
WR Ja’Marr Chase LSU So.
WR CeeDee Lamb Oklahoma Jr.
TE Harrison Bryant Florida Atlantic Sr.
OL Andrew Thomas Georgia Jr.
OL Penei Sewell Oregon So.
OL John Simpson Clemson Sr.
OL Tristan Wirfs Iowa Jr.
C Tyler Biadasz Wisconsin Jr.
QB Joe Burrow LSU Sr.
RB Jonathan Taylor Wisconsin Jr.
RB Chuba Hubbard Oklahoma State So.
PK Rodrigo Blankenship Georgia Sr.
DL Chase Young Ohio State Jr.
DL Derrick Brown Auburn Sr.
DL Bradlee Anae Utah Sr.
DL James Lynch Baylor Jr.
DL Curtis Weaver Boise State Jr.
LB Isaiah Simmons Clemson Jr.
LB Evan Weaver California Sr.
LB Zach Braun Wisconsin Sr.
DB Jeff Okudah Ohio State Jr.
DB Grant Delpit LSU Jr.
DB J.R. Reed Georgia Sr.
DB Antoine Winfield, Jr. Minnesota So.
P Max Duffy Kentucky So.
KR Joe Reed Virginia Sr.

Four additional awards were announced as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special.

  • Broyles Award (outstanding assistant coach): Joe Brady, LSU
  • John Mackey Award (outstanding tight end): Harrison Bryant, Florida Atlantic
  • Rimington Trophy (outstanding center): Tyler Biadasz, Wisconsin
  • Wuerffel Trophy (community service): Jon Wassink, Western Michigan
Back to top button