Star-Studded Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star Game 2015 on ABC


Star-Studded Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star Game 2015 on ABC

SportsCenter to air live from Mohegan Sun, as part of SportsCenter on the Road

The Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star Game 2015 will highlight the league’s stars in the 13th edition of the star-studded event, broadcasting live on ABC on Saturday, July 25, at 3:30 p.m. ET from Mohegan Sun Arena in Uncasville, Conn.  Ryan Ruocco will call the game alongside analyst Rebecca Lobo, with reporter Holly Rowe.  It will be the seventh All-Star event broadcast on ABC.

Last year’s game showcased end-to-end action, with the East just edging out the West 125-124 in the first overtime  game in WNBA All-Star history and featured a duel for MVP honors between Skylar Diggins (Tulsa Shock) and eventual winner and then-rookie Shoni Schimmel (Atlanta Dream), who became the first rookie to capture the honor.

The 2015 All-Star Game will feature extensive ESPN access to the players, coaches, locker rooms and benches.  Additional highlights:

In-game Access

  • Rowe will have in-game access to both the Eastern and Western Conference benches, conducting live interviews with players;
  • Pre-game and halftime locker room access;
  • On-court camera access during the action, specifically free throws and dead ball situations;
  • ESPN anchor Matt Barrie will host the State Farm Halftime Report with guest Chiney Ogwumike (Connecticut Sun).

Live Microphones

  • A total of four players – one per half from each team will wear live microphones during the games;
  • The head coach of each team will also wear a live microphone.


  • Columnist Mechelle Voepel will report from Mohegan Sun Arena;
  • Leading up to Saturday’s game, Voepel will profile leading All-Star vote-getter Elena Delle Donne, name her top five MVP candidates at the break, and provide additional on-site pre-game coverage and features;
  • W @ The WNBA All-Star Game will have one-on-one interviews with WNBA participants and coaches;
  • Live social media content involving fans and All-Star players;
  • The @espnW Twitter account will use the official @TwitterMirror during All-Star practice;
  • Before regular-season games resume, Michelle Smith’s midseason report will break down all 12 teams, including midseason grades for the first half of the season.

SportsCenter on the Road

A two-location edition of SportsCenter will conclude the five-week SportsCenter on the Road series. The 9 a.m. – noon program on ESPN will originate from the WNBA All-Star Game at Mohegan Sun Arena and from the Saratoga Race Course in Saratoga Springs, N.Y.  Barrie will anchor from the WNBA event, while Sara Walsh will host at Saratoga.

Boost Mobile WNBA All-Star Starters

The Chicago Sky’s Elena Delle Donne, who is on pace to set the WNBA single-season record for scoring average, finished as the top All-Star vote recipient.  Delle Donne (24.3 ppg) garnered 18,034 votes to lead the Eastern Conference for the second year in a row and all players for the second time in three seasons.  In 2013, she became the first rookie in WNBA history to earn the most votes overall.

Tulsa Shock guard Skylar Diggins, who was selected as a starter for the second straight year, and Minnesota Lynx forward Maya Moore, the 2014 WNBA MVP, led the Western Conference voting and ranked second and third overall with 15,895 and 13,706 votes, respectively.

Eastern Conference:

Player Team Position
Elena Delle Donne Chicago Sky Backcourt
Shoni Schimmel Atlanta Dream Backcourt
Tamika Catchings Indiana Fever Frontcourt
Angel McCoughtry Atlanta Dream Frontcourt
Tina Charles New York Liberty Frontcourt

Western Conference:

Player Team Position
Skylar Diggins * Tulsa Shock Backcourt
Seimone Augustus * Minnesota Lynx Backcourt
Maya Moore Minnesota Lynx Frontcourt
Brittney Griner Phoenix Mercury Frontcourt
Candice Dupree Phoenix Mercury Frontcourt

* – denotes a player who is injured and will not participate

– 30 –


Tara Chozet

I handle PR for ESPN Radio, espnW, technology, remote operations and soccer. I received my undergraduate degree from Dartmouth College and my Master’s degree from the University of Southern California Annenberg School for Communication & Journalism.
Back to top button