ESPN to Present the 88th Heisman Trophy Ceremony, Saturday at 8 p.m. ET

AwardsCollege FootballCollege Sports (Miscellaneous)

ESPN to Present the 88th Heisman Trophy Ceremony, Saturday at 8 p.m. ET

  • Chris Fowler to host joined by reporters Holly Rowe and Marty Smith
  • Previous Heisman winnersRobert Griffin III, Desmond Howard, Tim Tebow and Andre Ware to contribute
  • 2022 Heisman Finalists Stetson Bennett, Max Duggan, C.J. Stroud and Caleb Williams
  • Additionally, all four FCS Playoff Quarterfinal games airing this weekend across ESPN platforms

ESPN – the exclusive home of the Heisman Trophy Ceremony since 1994 – will televise the 88th Heisman Trophy Ceremony presented by Nissan on Saturday, Dec. 10, at 8 p.m. ET. For the second year, the Heisman Ceremony will originate from its new home at Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Appel Room in New York City and will be hosted by ESPN’s Chris Fowler, emceeing for his 29th straight year. ESPN college football reporters Holly Rowe and Marty Smith will join Fowler during the one-hour live show, along with ESPN analysts and former Heisman Trophy winners Robert Griffin III (2011), Desmond Howard (1991), Tim Tebow (2007) and Andre Ware (1989).

The four finalists who will be in attendance include quarterbacks Stetson Bennett (Georgia), Max Duggan (TCU), C.J. Stroud (Ohio State) and Caleb Williams (USC).

Heisman voting concluded after conference championship games were played Dec. 2-3 and the 2022 finalists were announced on Monday Night Countdown. The top-10 finishers will be featured on The Top 10 Heisman Trophy Finalists Show Presented by Nissan on Thursday, Dec. 8, at 9 p.m. on ESPN.

ESPN Digital and Social
The Heisman Show presented by Nissan will air live from 7:30-8 p.m. on ESPN’s social and digital platforms immediately preceding The Heisman Ceremony. Hosted by Christine Williamson, Kelsey Riggs and Harry Lyles Jr., the show will feature red carpet interviews from all four finalists as well as a mix of analysis and interviews with the Heisman Ceremony broadcast team and former Heisman Trophy winners Robert Griffin III and Tim Tebow. The show is available across Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, and the ESPN App Highlights’s coverage of the Heisman Trophy Ceremony will include the following stories:

  • disputed Heisman, a split national title and dueling, enduring conspiracies of 1997 (Chris Low and Andrea Adelson)
  • The moments that defined Caleb Williams’ move toward the Heisman (Paolo Uggetti)
  • Following the ceremony, there will be a Way-Too-Early staff roundtable on the 2023 Heisman – insights, early favorites and potential sleepers ahead of the next season

All Four FCS Playoff Quarterfinal Games to Air on ESPN Platforms This Weekend
The college football season on ESPN continues with all four FCS Playoff Quarterfinal games airing this weekend, Dec. 9-10. The nation’s best programs will be featured as all eight of the top-seeded FCS teams have advanced.

Defending national champion and No. 3 seed North Dakota State hosts No. 6 Samford on Friday, Dec. 9, at 7 p.m. on ESPN2 (simulcast on ESPN+) with Tiffany GreeneJay Walker and Taylor Davis on the call. The quarterfinals conclude Saturday at noon on ESPN (and ESPN+) with Clay MatvickRocky Boiman and Taylor McGregor calling No. 8 Holy Cross at top-seeded South Dakota State.

Quarterfinal winners advance to next weekend’s semifinals, Dec. 16-17. The FCS Championship game is set for 2 p.m. ET on Sunday, Jan. 8 at Toyota Stadium in Frisco, Texas and will be broascast on ABC for the first time since 2020.

 NCAA FCS Playoffs – Quarterfinals:

Date  Time (ET) Bowl  Platform
Fri, Dec 9 7 p.m. No. 6 Samford at No. 3 North Dakota State
Tiffany Greene, Jay Walker, Taylor Davis
10:15 p.m. No. 5 William & Mary at No. 4 Montana State 
Jay Alter, Dustin Fox, Lauren Sisler
  10:30 p.m. No. 7 Incarnate World at No. 2 Sacramento State
Connor Onion, Charles Arbuckle
Sat, Dec 10 Noon No. 8 Holy Cross at No. 1 South Dakota State
Clay Matvick, Rocky Boiman, Taylor McGregor

 ESPN+ will also carry the NCAA Div. II and III semifinal games on Saturday:

 NCAA Division II Semifinals

Date  Time (ET) Bowl  Platform
Sat, Dec 10 Noon No. 4 West Florida at No. 1 Ferris State (MI)
Noah Reed, Marcus Ray
3:30 p.m. No. 3 Shepherd (WV) at No. 2 Colorado School of Mines
Ted Emrich, Taylor McHargue

NCAA Division III Semifinals

Date  Time (ET) Bowl  Platform
Sat, Dec 10 Noon Wartburg (IA) at Mount Union (OH)
Michael Reghi, Ryan Cavanaugh
  3:30 p.m. Mary Hardin-Baylor (TX) at North Central (IL)
Doug Sherman, Craig Haubert

– 30 –

Media contacts:
Amanda Brooks at 704-973-5042; [email protected] and @BrooksAD

Julie McKay

I joined ESPN in 2022 as a member of the communications department working on college sports. My passion for college sports came at an early age in a divided household (Big Ten Conference-divided, that is) and followed that to the University of Wisconsin-Madison (sorry, Dad). Four years in the Athletic Communications Department, along with internships with the Big Ten Conference, Big Ten Network and NCAA Men’s Basketball Tournament, cemented my career path. After spending some time in sports media PR in San Francisco, I’ve spent five-plus years focused in golf, with stints at the American Junior Golf Association, Augusta National and Buffalo Agency, working with the USGA, Youth on Course and Destination Kohler, among others. Despite being a proud Wisconsin native, I’ll forever betray my home state as a lifelong Chicago sports fan. My dog Rizzo knows there’s always next year and wishes his namesake would return home to the North Side.
Back to top button