ESPN’s 2024 UFL Kickoff Season Commentators Revealed


ESPN’s 2024 UFL Kickoff Season Commentators Revealed

Featuring ESPN’s Industry-Leading Roster of College Football Experts & Returning Spring Football Voices

ESPN revealed its signature commentator teams for the inaugural season of the UFL on ESPN & ABC platforms.

Key Details:

  • Features five teams of signature voices across ESPN’s roster of industry-leading football experts, many returning from the platform’s 2023 XFL coverage, providing additional insight and expertise.
  • The three ESPN/ABC teams each include a play-by-play commentator and analyst in the booth plus a reporter and analyst on the field. The sideline team will provide a unique vantage point for analysis and added access for fans throughout the game.
  • ESPN Deportes’ coverage will include a rotation of two teams, featuring a play-by-play voice and analyst.
  • Teams will cover ESPN’s full 21-game slate across ABC, ESPN, ESPN2 and ESPN Deportes*. All of these games will also be available on ESPN+.

ESPN Deportes’ schedule and commentator teams will be announced soon.

“This team represents an incredible depth of football expertise and features many returning voices from our innovative XFL coverage,” said Amanda Gifford, ESPN vice president of production. “In collaboration with the UFL, we look forward to further pushing the traditional production boundaries all season, bringing fans more expert insight, immediate on-field reactions from players and coaches and an inside look behind the scenes of each team throughout the game.”


Team 1 (Play-by-play duties will be shared by Mike Monaco and Drew Carter)

Fast Facts:

  • Mike Monaco (play-by-play) – Joined ESPN in 2019 and has called, MLB, NHL, Little League World Series, basketball, college baseball, football, lacrosse, volleyball and softball events for ESPN and the ACC Network, in addition to contributing to Boston Red Sox broadcasts on NESN.
  • Drew Carter (play-by-play) – Joined ESPN in 2021, and calls a variety of sports for ESPN, including college football, college basketball, men’s and women’s collegiate lacrosse, softball and the PLL. In addition, Carter has served as the local NBA play-by-play voice for Boston Celtics on NBC Sports Boston.
  • Sam Acho (analyst) – The nearly 10-year NFL veteran joined ESPN in 2021. A college football analyst, Acho contributes to college football studio coverage on Saturdays as a lead studio voice, in addition to making regular appearances across SportsCenter, Get Up and College Football Live. He also contributed to the platform’s 2023 XFL coverage.
  • Stormy Buonantony (field reporter) – The Emmy-award winning journalist joined ESPN in 2020 and is a college football sideline reporter for the platform and contributed to 2023 XFL coverage. Buonantony also co-hosts the weekday VSiN The Lombardi Line digital sports talk show.
  • Cole Cubelic (field analyst) – Former Auburn University offensive lineman and captain, joined ESPN in 2011 and is an analyst across the platform’s college football game and studio coverage, including SEC Saturday Night. He also covered XFL games as a field analyst for ESPN/ABC in 2020 and 2023, and co-hosts both Read & React on SEC Network and the McElroy and Cubelic in the Morning radio show in Birmingham.

Team 2

Fast Facts:

  • Lowell Galindo (play-by-play) – Joined ESPN in 2007 and is the lead anchor for Longhorn Network. Galindo also contributes to play-by-play commentary for college sports across ESPN platforms, including Texas football and basketball and ESPN’s 2023 XFL coverage.
  • Tom Luginbill (analyst) – Joined ESPN in 2005 and provides recruiting analysis for top collegiate football prospects as the director of scouting in addition to his college football analyst role. Luginbill served as an analyst on XFL games on ESPN and ABC in 2020 and 2023 and was a quarterback coach in the original XFL, winning a championship with Los Angeles in 2001.
  • Kayla Burton (field reporter) – Former Lehigh women’s basketball standout, joined ESPN in 2023 as part of the platform’s college football game coverage. Prior to ESPN, she spent several years with NFL Media in a multi-platform role across NFL Network, and the NFL app.
  • Harry Douglas (field analyst) – The 10-year NFL veteran joined ESPN in 2019 and is a contributor across ESPN studio shows, digital football shows including hosting Countdown to College GameDay, and co-host of the national ESPN Radio afternoon drive show Freddie & Harry. The Louisville Hall of Famer has also served as an analyst for NFL and CFB games on ESPN Radio.

Team 3 (Play-by-play duties will be shared by Roy Philpott and Jorge Sedano)

Fast Facts:

  • Roy Philpott (play-by-play) – Joined ESPN in 2013 and is a play-by-play voice across the platform’s college football, basketball and baseball games.
  • Jorge Sedano (play-by-play) – Joined ESPN in 2013 and began with ESPNLA 710 in 2016, where he hostsSedano & Kap. In addition to his play-by-play work for college football, Sedano calls NFL, CFB and NBA games for ESPN Radio. He’s also a sideline reporter for ESPN and ABC’s NBA game coverage.
  • Kirk Morrison (analyst) – Joined ESPN in 2017, the eight-year NFL veteran currently works on ESPN and ABC’s college football coverage as well as the pregame, halftime, and post-game radio host of the Los Angeles Rams on ESPNLA. He is also a regular host of The Blitz on Sirius XM NFL Radio and other shows in the Sirius XM family. Morrison is a regular guest on sports talk radio shows across the country year round.
  • Ian Fitzsimmons (field reporter) – Joined ESPN in 2009 and is a sideline analyst and reporter for ESPN Radio covering college football and NFL games as well as the co-host of Amber & Ian. He also contributed to ESPN’s 2023 XFL coverage.
  • Eric Mac Lain (field analyst) – Joined ACC Network in 2019 and is a studio analyst on ACC Huddle, ACCN’s signature football show, and contributed to ESPN’s 2023 XFL coverage. Mac Lain played at Clemson from 2011-15, amassing the most wins (46) by a single player in team history.


Media Contacts: Ardi Dwornik ([email protected])Michael Skarka ([email protected])

Back to top button